How to block and unblock someone on Facebook

Filed in Blog by on May 3, 2021 0 Comments

How to block and unblock someone on Facebook

  • Blocking a Facebook friend stops their posts from showing in your feed and prevents them from sending you direct messages.
  • Unlike unfriending, blocking can be undone without the other party knowing you ever changed the nature of the Facebook relationship in the first place.
  • Also consider electing to unfollow a Facebook friend if you’re tired of seeing their posts but don’t have a reason to actually distance yourself.

Maybe you’re tired of your uncle’s constant political posts, or you’ve seen enough videos of your high school classmate’s cat, or you want some space from an old friend.

Is it time to unfriend them? While that’s always an option, it can’t be undone without letting the friend know you removed them in the first place. Consider blocking them instead, as there’s a chance you will later change your mind.

The good news is that unlike unfriending, you can block someone, you can always unblock them without them ever knowing they had been blocked in the first place. Blocking on Facebook means a person’s posts won’t enter your feed, your content won’t be served to them, and they won’t be able to send you messages.

And if you ever decide to unblock them, they’ll be re-added to your Friends list automatically. Whereas when you unfriend someone, you have to send them a new friend request if you want to become their Facebook friend again.

How to block someone on Facebook

1. Log into your Facebook account and locate the person to be blocked either by searching for their name or by scrolling through your list of friends.

2. Near the top right of your friend’s page, locate the three horizontal dots, and click them.

block2
Click the three-dot icon.
Grace Eliza Goodwin/Business Insider

3. In the dropdown menu that appears, click “Block.”

block1
Select “Block” from the list of options.
Grace Eliza Goodwin/Business Insider

4. On the window that pops up, click “Confirm.”

5. Click “Okay” on the next window.

You’re done — they’re blocked. They won’t see what you post, you won’t see what they post, they are no longer listed as a friend on your page, and they can’t send you messages, either.

But what if blocking them was a mistake you made in the heat of the moment? If so, then you can easily unblock them.

How to unblock someone on Facebook

1. From anywhere on Facebook, find and click the downward-facing arrow in the top right corner of the page.

2. In the dropdown menu, click “Setting & privacy” then click “Settings.”

block3
After clicking “Settings & privacy” in the dropdown menu under the arrow icon, click “Settings.”
Grace Eliza Goodwin/Business Insider

3. In the column on the left side of the screen, click “Blocking.”

block5
Go to the “Blocking” page.
Grace Eliza Goodwin/Business Insider

4. On the next page, see which users you have blocked and, if you want to bring one back into the fold, click “Unblock” beside their name.

block7
In the “Block users” section, click “Unblock” beside the relevant person.
Grace Eliza Goodwin/Business Insider

5. Click “Confirm” on the pop-up window.

block6
Click “Confirm” to finish unblocking them.
Grace Eliza Goodwin/Business Insider

And just like that, your friend is unblocked and it’s like nothing ever changed; you’re back in touch, they are again listed as a friend, and they never even knew you had severed ties. If you don’t want to fully block someone, consider unfollowing them instead.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *