How to Disconnect Twitter From Facebook

Filed in Blog by on May 3, 2021 0 Comments

How to Disconnect Twitter From Facebook

...

340 million tweets go out every day, at the time of publication.

Given how Twitter lends itself to frequent posting, the optional feature that posts every tweet to Facebook can lead to an excessive stream of Facebook updates. To stop the cross-posting, disable the link through your Twitter settings. To erase every tweet from Facebook as well, remove Twitter from Facebook’s settings as well.

Disconnect Without Deleting Tweets on Facebook

 

Step 1

 

...

Clicking your profile image opens Twitter’s menu.

Log in to Twitter, click your profile image on the menu bar and choose Settings.

 

Step 2

 

...

You must log in every time you change the Facebook link.

Open the Apps tab and click Login to Facebook. Log in using your Facebook account.

 

Step 3

 

...

You can set each option individually.

Uncheck Post Retweets to Facebook to cut back on Facebook posts by only sharing your original tweets.

To turn off all posts, uncheck Post to My Facebook Profile to stop posting personal Facebook status updates. Uncheck Post to My Facebook Page to stop posting to the Facebook Page for your organization or company.

 

Step 4

 

...

Disconnecting stops all reposting, regardless of the checked options.

Press Disconnect to completely remove the link between Twitter and Facebook. No further warning appears after pressing the button — if you want to use Twitter on Facebook again, you’ll need to click Connect to Facebook to reconnect.

Disconnect and Delete Tweets on Facebook

Step 1

 

...

Find Facebook’s menu by clicking the triangle icon.

Log in to Facebook, open the menu and click Settings.

 

Step 2

 

...

The Apps page shows every app connected to Facebook

Open the Apps page and click the X icon next to Twitter.

 

Step 3

 

...

Removing the Twitter app on Facebook disconnects the two sites.

Check the Delete option and press Remove to delete all of your tweets from Facebook and disconnect the two services. There’s no way to undo deleting your posts on Facebook, but the tweets remain on your Twitter account.

Tip

Click the “Edit” icon for Twitter on Facebook’s Apps page to change the audience for your tweets, if you want to keep posting tweets but show them to fewer people.

Warning

Deleting an individual tweet from your Twitter account won’t erase it from Facebook. Similarly, erasing a Facebook post that originated from Twitter won’t erase the original tweet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *